Back to My One True Love … or so I think

My one true love is not a person … my one true love is reading.  I promised to read more … doesn’t have to be a book, just to learn new stuff … get the old rusty vocabulary going.  Even see life through someone else’s eyes.  Feel a myriad of emotions not mine, but ones I can easily understand and openly accept,  have a discussion or argument (the better option!) about.  I started with Girl Reading by Katie Ward.  Chucked over PhP1,000 for a hardbound copy and already in Chapter 4 (of 7) …. sent a Twitter to the writer (she answered back!  Yey!  feeling like a worthy fan …) to give ultra-positive feedback.  And for a while I thought my OTL and I are back for good and then I realized:  I am so tamad …. what else other than reading can I do?  Hahahahahaha!

So I look for a somewhat interesting “other lover” and the winner is TV.  Am I cheap or what?

My best buddy (also good and faithful slave) has a collection of downloaded series … a slew of shows that may interest one or both of us.  The sitcoms are our regular staple, along with the more famous English (nothing dubbed, OK?) telenovelas like House, MD (will cry when I see the last season … I would like him to be my “real” doctor for all my illnesses:  true or imagined … God, I digress) and Grey’s Anatomy (NO!  I did not answer “I want to be a doctor when I grow up” in kindergarten.  I wanted to be a private dancer …. that’s another story for “later in life”) and (surprise!)  Once Upon a Time (perhaps we are watching this to treat our inner children or we just miss Dr. Cameron from House, MD who is now Sheriff Emma in Storybrooke …. digressing much … digressing has to be stopped…)

After watching the usual fare,  Best Buddy / Slave suggested that we try BEING HUMAN (Aren’t we tired of this already? Is this a story of everyday stuff?!  If so, I’d rather read even if I am tamad).  Lo and behold — it’s a barkada of beings I would like to be, if I had nightmares everyday:  vampire, werewolf and a ghost.   While it bothered me that they changed 2 of the 3 actors from the first episode,  I have to hand it to them to leave the best one for the second epi — the werewolf is whiny, OC and speaks clearly (they are all Brits so most of the time, I just hear “blah-blah-blah-blah” — I go Bart Simpson in his “I ain’t listening to you” mode.

We have not completed the first season so you will have to wait for a real, honest to goodness review of BEING HUMAN aka Being Different in Human Form … but for starters, here you are:

>  So far, nothing spooky. The ghost has nice (same in every epi) clothes and curly hair.

> The vampire is cool … he was a soldier when he was still human.  His maker, however, is ugly.  I  like the makers in True Blood more …

> No such thing as blood substitute here.  So we still see a lot of blood sucking and mopping (they have to show how they clean up after) ….  and here, the crucifix (still!!!) works (unlike in True Blood) … so do stakes.

> The whiny werewolf shrieks a great deal when he transforms.  Not into a robot … just a plain, bad-looking dog.

> I am a wee bit interested to catch the cliffhanger.

It had taken over reading Girl Reading for the time being (human, in my terms, tamad).

Slave, get me some plain popcorn, please.  Now na.

One thought on “Back to My One True Love … or so I think

  1. PS: BTW, the greatest love of my life is human, with qualities of a vampire (cool), werewolf (animal!!!) and ghost (pa-mysterious from time to time, LOL!)

Leave a Reply

