Daily Prompt: Back to School >>> Nooooooooooooooooooo!

The Catwalk at Loyola

If you could take a break from your life and go back to school to master a subject, what would it be?

What is the operative word here? Is it break? School? Mastery?

Funny that this question will come up a day after our alma mater’s feast day (Studied at St. James Academy). Is there room for nostalgia in my heart for the school hall, where I spent a good 13 years of my life?

Strange that this question will come up during the season when my university has had a string of losses in the senior basketball derby. Do I wish to go back and cheer my lungs out for my school (which I choose, win or lose!)?

Such timing! … I was just at my business school last weekend and stopped by our case room, remembering all those days spent there exchanging BS with classmates and engaging them occasionally with “AGREE (or DISAGREE) business.” Those were such exciting and challenging years!

Do I really want to go back to school? Obviously, the title is give-away. A few minutes back, I sent an e-mail greeting all batchmates still active in our Yahoo! group. Belated as it may be, the greeting came with all my good intentions — wishing all happiness in life. We grew up together and I only have such happy, happy memories.

As for the basketball team, long after I left from the university, a host of younger family members have followed suit and have gone to the hills of Loyola and like me, decided to take a (mandatory) “side” course on being a man-for-others. The Jesuits have made their mark on me — and yes, I believe that it is the school we choose, in victory and defeat. (OK … secretly, I still wish that the team will make it to top 4). Together, we form a group of “believers” of the school and look forward to the next member from our family.

As for business school, well, I met my closest and dearest friends there. I may not have mastered anything at the institute (sorry to all my brilliant, brilliant professors), but I was able to forge the best of partnerships there. Oh yes, I have a minor in ARGUMENTS.

So there … going back to school is not my piece of cake or my idea of a break from life. After all, it was in these schools that I learn to always move forward. While I can sing my alma mater hymns with much gusto anytime, they have not been in my list of LSS for years. A visit or two from time to time is enough for this lifetime.

A minor note though: It has always been a nightmare for me to be back in school and not knowing anything about history.

What about you?

Happy weekend, everyone!

Love
Home

If you wish to join the DP sharing of thoughts about school, check this out : http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/07/26/daily-prompt-mastery/

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Back to School >>> Nooooooooooooooooooo!

  1. Pingback: If I were to go back to school, what would I want to master? | Kids "R" Simple

  2. Pingback: Back to school | Sue's Trifles

Leave a Reply

