Weekly Photo Challenge: Inside a Dolls’ Nest

Weekly Photo Challenge: Inside a Dolls' Nest

Inside?  Matryoshka nesting dolls are my inspiration for this Weekly Challenge (I am excited — I just might have more than one post again!)

“The first Russian nested doll set was carved in 1890 by Vasily Zvyozdochkin from a design by Sergey Malyutin.” The art of making these Russian souvenir dolls has been around for over a century. They are hand-painted in such wonderful colors … that I have decided to also include it as a post for the multi-colored travel photo challenge.

My set was given to me by my friend Sylvia from one of her trips to Russia. My “girls” sit with me at my new home. Love you, girls!

**********
More “inside” stories and pics to delight you here at http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/09/13/photo-challenge-inside/.

10 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Inside a Dolls’ Nest

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge : Inside – Catherine Palace, St. Petersburg | anniesshowroom

  2. Loved nesting dolls since I was a little girl. I’ve always wanted to have my own since I watched the Sesame Street video. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

