Weekly Writing Challenge : Dialogue >>> Death Scene 8. The Hand

Scene 8. The Hand

“Hello, Grandma.” She extended her tiny hand to the old woman.

“Who are you?” the old woman replied.

“Why don’t you remember me, Grandma? You used to call me …”

“Angel,” the old woman completed the child’s statement.

They both smiled at the old woman’s recollection.

“You look tired, Grandma. Shouldn’t you be resting now? Take my hand now, I will help you.”

The old woman took the child’s hand. “You are cold, my child. Come, lie down here, I shall keep you warm under my blankets.”

“No, Grandma. Take my hand now, come with me. You shall be going home soon. Anytime now, really.”

“Oh, you mean …”

“Yes, Grandma, come leave with me now. You have done your part here, you should come rest and be with me.”

“But your mother shall be home soon. No one shall take care of her. I cannot leave her alone. She ….” The old woman started to cry.

“Don’t cry, Grandma. Momma will be fine, she will have to learn to live by herself.”

“No, she can’t. She still needs me. She will get lonely, who knows what she will do next? She isn’t all that great with her life.”

“Oh, no. She has to learn that on her own. You have given her all the chances to do so. You told her that I was her last hope at being good at something and she did not want me. Remember how you asked her to keep me?”

“Yes. I do remember. I tried to save you. You know, I did. I called you Angel since I thought she would …”

“No, she didn’t, Grandma. Come now, hold my hand. I will help you up.”

The old woman smiled, took the child’s hand and breathed her last.

“Thank you, Grandma. I love you.”

______________

Reposted this in response to this week’s writing challenge:

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/category/writing-challenges/

I miss my grandma from time to time.  I still do after all these years since she passed away.

4 thoughts on “Weekly Writing Challenge : Dialogue >>> Death Scene 8. The Hand

Leave a Reply

